How to Date Like a Scientist: The Post Date Eight Questions

Alpha Lim, Alphiliate Marketer
3 min readNov 4, 2023

Dating can be a confusing and frustrating process for many people. You may have a list of criteria that you look for in a potential partner, such as height, income, education, hobbies, etc. But do these traits really matter when it comes to finding a compatible and lasting relationship?

According to Logan Ury, a behavior scientist and dating coach, the answer is no. In her interview on DOAC podcast, she explained that most people focus too much on superficial factors that may not indicate how well they will get along with someone in the long run. Instead, she suggested that people should pay more attention to how the other person makes them feel, and whether they share the same values and goals.

To help people do this, she created a checklist of eight questions for singles to ask themselves after dates, called the “post date eight” questions. These questions are:

  1. How did my body feel during the date?
  2. Did I feel heard?
  3. Did I feel respected?
  4. Did I feel curious?
  5. Did I feel excited?
  6. Did I feel comfortable?
  7. Did I feel like myself?
  8. Do I want to see them again?

--

--